When you where in school..

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

cookiemonster

Legendary Member
I wanted to be a Doctor.

I'm now studying Zoology which could lead to being able to train as a vet.

ChrisKH

Guru
I wanted to be what I am now, but didn't have the self confidence to believe I could achieve it until I was much older. There's a moral there.

Maz

Guru
Dad: So, Son, what do you want to do when you're as big as your old dad?
Son: Go on a diet!

I wanted to be a pilot. But I was told I couldn't be that because I was a girl, and the best I could hope for was air hostess.
Then I wanted to be a vulcanologist. But I'm too thick at chemistry.
Then I wanted to be a musician, but lost the use of my arms in my teens because of a congenital deformity.
I trained to be a lawyer, but hated it.
So now I am a social scientist and a crap accordion player, and I've always been a cyclist :evil:

Andy in Sig

Vice President in Exile
I wanted to run my own game fishing boat in the Caribbean making loads of money off rich American tourists. Now I teach English in SW Germany, which is OK actually.

marinyork

Resting in suspended Animation
I didn't know what I wanted to be.
Now I seem to waste my time trying to convince biologists during interviews that Maths is a science and I am interested in their area. I've taken up cycling in the mean time though :ohmy:.

Night Train

Maker of Things
At primary school I wanted to be an astronaut or a truck driver.
At secondary school I wanted to be astrophyicist or an actor.
At college I wanted to be a mechanical engineer designing military vehicles or a test driver for them.
At university I wanted to teach or do accident investigation (after my brother was killed in a car crash).

Now I teach hand crafted furniture and design.
I still study cosmology and design suspension systems for off road vehicles just for fun. And I act.

Globalti

Legendary Member