Your first job

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

got-to-get-fit

trolley pusher at the local supermarket.

Before that though i was a paper lad but i got sacked cos i could never be arsed giving people the right papers ...i just used to put whichever paper came out of the bag first through peoples doors.

surfgurl

My first job was as a lunchtime supervisor while in the sixth form at school, £40 a month for two shifts a week.
I did bar work all through university and got a job in a call centre when I graduated. Ended up staying there for five years until it sent me mad, literally, I was signed off for 8 months.
Since then I work in school. Currently looking for a new career.

Lisa21

Mooching.............
Yea, its a great job and still my one regret in life that I left. But then I guess its a very lucky person who gets to grow up without having a few regrets along the way.

Baggy

Cake connoisseur
First job was working in a burger bar.
First job after leaving school was working as a groom.
First proper job was researching business crime.

I look back at the second one with rose tinted specs - you tend to forget all the back breaking poo-shovelling and just remember the nice bits, like being outside in the sunshine all day. :biggrin:

Brains

Legendary Member
ianrauk said:
Hey,
same as me....
But mine was way back in the early '80's for bands such as Frankie Goes To Hollywood, Wham, Culture Club, U2, Cure, Whitesnake, Saxon, Rainbow and almost every big pop & Heavy Metal band at the time.

I wonder if we met ? - I'm fairly close to you as well.

First job working in the City as a runner for £20 a week.

Then toured with the bands flogging merchandise in the early/mid 1980's