£800 to spend

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I've been riding a carrera tdf for a few months and wanting to upgrade. A little bit of luck and a lot of hard work means I've got £800max to spend.

I really like the look of the Trek 1.5. The dealer will give me a free bike fit and set the bike up, should be great.

However when I went in to look I really liked the domane 4.0 carbon frame bike, but I can't afford that and won't be able to any time soon.

I think I like the trek 1.5 better than others in that price range, defy, Allen, sportster etc. and the trek dealer is first rate.

So I've got a choice! Trek 1,5 brand new good bike fit and a great dealer or a search around and take chances on eBay where similar money gets something really good. However I'm not sure I'd trust a carbon frame off eBay.

Onyer

Have a look at the London Cycle Exchange.. They have a Cannondale SuperSix Hi-Mod for sale at £995. A bit more that what you wanted to pay, but still a good price. They may have some others in your price range and they turn over their stock quite fast. So you could let them know what you want and then they will let you know.
http://roadcycleexchange.com/collections/allbikes/products/dummy

vickster

Legendary Member
@Dangermouse is selling his upgraded Trek for that - look in the Classifieds :smile:

As @smokeysmoo says, carbon is just another frame material, not necessarily better or lighter than a high quality alu or steel one

Banjo

Fuelled with Jelly Babies
You could look at the Domane 2 with ally frame and carbon fork 750 at Evans. It has the decoupler system same as the carbon models.

Doyleyburger

Veteran
Felt Z85 is what I went for recently. Amazing bike for the money £665 I think. 105 group set and extremely comfortable. It has carbon forks and seat post. Up there with the £1000 carbon models if you ask me :thumbsup:

cyberknight

As long as I breathe, I attack.