12-28 or 12-30 Cassette?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Joffey

Big Dosser
I'm not good at climbing but getting better. Currently thinking of popping a 12-30 cassette on to give me an emergency gear on the tougher climbs...

Anyone used both and do you think I would even notice the extra 2 teeth when running out of gears?

Eribiste

Careful with that axle Eugene
I've just changed the cassette on my Boardman, going from 26 to 30, a very noticeable change. Not so much an 'emergency' gear as something that makes climbing so much easier. I'm glad I made the change.

Dogtrousers

Kilometre nibbler
If your rear mech has the capacity for both the extra 2 teeth of slack, and also the 30T largest sprocket, then go for it ... Why ever not?

It should be very easy to find the spec for your mech and discover its capacity and largest sprocket. Be aware also that the stated limits can be a bit conservative and can be pushed beyond a bit (or so they say on here!)

OP
OP
Joffey

Joffey

Big Dosser
I've got a 5700 105 short cage. Word on the street is you can squeeze a 30 on there... Think I will go for it.

potsy

Rambler
I've got a 5700 105 short cage. Word on the street is you can squeeze a 30 on there... Think I will go for it.
Got the same on my Caad8 and the 30 fits just fine, it's not a massive difference from the original 12-28 but every little helps :okay:

OP
OP
Joffey

Joffey

Big Dosser
Got the same on my Caad8 and the 30 fits just fine, it's not a massive difference from the original 12-28 but every little helps :okay:

Every little does help! Haha

bpsmith

Veteran
But you do lose another gear from within your range, creating a bigger jump. It's a fine line balancing the two options. Once you progress, you will soon sit comfortable with the 28 on most rides and wish you had that intermediate hear at times. I would consider maybe holding back for a bit before swapping and seeing how you go?

PpPete

Legendary Member