127 mile canal ride for charity training suggestions

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Pjays666

Über Member
Hi all I will be doing the leeds liverpool canal for charity around may time. I will be doing this over three days any suggestions to training or nutrition would be welcome. I am a novice cyclist having only been back on a bike since September however the bug is biting so hoping to shed a few stone in the process. Thanks in advance.

Rob500

PJ6's. Well done for aiming for this goal.
127 miles over 3 days. Right now riding 40 odd miles in one day might seem monumental but you can do it.
The only training you need is to go out and ride your bike.

As above, just get time in the saddle to acclimatise your bum. By the time it comes to do this you will probably find that 40+miles in one day on the flat is relatively easy. As for nutrition I am sure there will be plenty of cafes along the route for cake stops:hungry: maybe carry a couple of bananas and some flapjack. Also have a coupe of full bidons on the bike to keep hydrated.

vernon

Harder than Ronnie Pickering
Get some miles in and it will be a breeze. I went from being unable to walk to the end of my street and back to doing a three and a half day 130 mile coast to coast bike ride within three and a half months of getting a bike. Try to pick a dry time for the canal ride as chunks of the tow path become quagmires in wet weather. Forty miles per day should prove to be a very comfortable pace.

It's not a particularly scenic ride and be prepared to fend off aggressive geese and swans.

Globalti

Legendary Member
Over this distance bike setup and saddle comfort will really matter so you need to get that sorted.

Don't attempt it on knobbly tyres; slicks will be much faster.

MarkF

Guru
I spend a lot of my cycling time on the canal and have done it's full length more than once.