50 mile TT

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Cuchilo

Prize winning member X2
Is it worth doing one just to get a time down on paper ?
The distance isnt a problem but at race pace hmmmmm ive not tried that .As im new to TTing would having a time for a 50 benifit me ?

Sharky

Guru
Yes
They hurt, but in many ways easier than a 10. You ride at a slightly lower tempo and you get a bit in the middle for about 75 minutes, when you really enjoy the racing. The first 20 minutes is always hard, until you get into a rhythm and the last 20 minutes can be torture.

Need to ride a few 25's, but if you can finish these strongly, then a 50 will be no problem.

Good luck
Keith

PS these thoughts are from memory. Not ridden a 50 for a few years now, but is on my bucket list to do a few more.

OP
OP
Cuchilo

Cuchilo

Prize winning member X2
My first and only 25 was cut down to 11 as the road was flooded . The next one is at the end of Aug i think but there is a 50 at the end of June .
I think i might try doing 50 on the TT bike first and see how that goes !

DCLane

Found in the Yorkshire hills ...
I'm doing my first 50 in September, my first 25 in July and my first 15 next month.

Oh, and I did my first 10 last Sunday.

Let me know how you get on ... and suggestions please as well :okay:

jazzkat

Fixed wheel fanatic.
I've done a couple of 25s and quite enjoyed them, in a zen, get into the rhythm and be in the moment type way.
I never fancied a longer one, a club mate suggested I have a go at a hundred but there was no way that was going to happen :laugh:

OP
OP
Cuchilo

Cuchilo

Prize winning member X2
I've done a couple of 25s and quite enjoyed them, in a zen, get into the rhythm and be in the moment type way.
I never fancied a longer one, a club mate suggested I have a go at a hundred but there was no way that was going to happen :laugh: