A beginner and going through Queensway tunnel

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

fortunezhf

Hi, I am new to cycling and I might be getting a part time job soon with the hours of 9PM-4AM, no public transport is available at that time so instead I wanted to try and cycle through. Since I leave at 4AM I am fine to go through the Queensway tunnel but I have little to no experience with cycling and I was wondering if anyone has any experience with going through and things I should look out for whilst on the road.

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
As you are new to cycling, then it may be rather foolish to try this. It's not a pleasant environment, and folk won't be expecting a bike going through at those times. If I remember rightly, there is a fair old incline either end so if not a fit cyclist you might struggle.

I wouldn't ride through it !

si_c

Guru
I've seen people ride through, it's not something I would choose to do though, but if you ride primary on the inside lane you should be fine. Speed limit is 30 and enforced so nobody drives fast.

OP
OP
F

fortunezhf

Thanks for the input, probably not my thing then since i'm still new to road laws etc. Will just have to stay until 6:30AM when the bus comes lol!

KneesUp

Guru
The Queensway tunnel has a 10mph minimum speed limit (20mph in the second lane) and as @fossyant says there is a decent incline either side - it's 170ft below the water line in the middle.

Dirk

If 6 Was 9
The OP hasn't given his location.
There is a Queensway tunnel in Birmingham.
If that is the one he is referring to, then absolutely NO WAY would I attempt to cycle it at any time of the day!

DaveReading

Don't suffer fools gladly (must try harder!)
If that is the one he is referring to, then absolutely NO WAY would I attempt to cycle it at any time of the day!