A bit of advice, please.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

obelix1664

I'll try to keep this short. The company that I work for have just joined the Cycle to Work scheme with the following parameters for those employees wishing to participate, maximum £1000 spend on bike and can only purchase from Halfords.:sad:

Now this is where I need advice. I am just getting into road riding and am considering joining the scheme, with the intention of buying a Boardman Team @ 999.00 (currently), but while I have been doing my research I have stumbled across various other bike makers/sellers that are also selling alternative makes/models for the same price but with interest free finance over the same period as the cycle to work scheme (12 months). Something that particularly caught my eye are the bikes from Ribble, the Gran Fondo and Sportive Bianco to name a couple.

So given the choice which would be the better option? I am aware that by joining the C2W scheme that I would also make a saving on my income tax and NI contributions, but by opting to get a road bike outside of the scheme would I ultimately be getting a better quality bike, which would in turn mean better value for my money.:wahhey:

vickster

Legendary Member
Just to let you know, there are a few other bike shops around London that take (or at least did take a couple of years ago) Halfords vouchers - On Your Bike at London Bridge, Pearsons in Sutton/Sheen for example :smile:

The Boardman bikes are extremely good value for money, don't assume that because it's Halfords, it's a less good bike. Post the specs of the Ribbles for people to compare

Finance wise, figure out how much you would pay overall on C2W (including the payment at the end, depends on your salary, scheme terms, ask HR) versus the £1000 with the finance option (of course if buying independently, you are not beholden to a set figure ;) :evil: )