A Quarter-Life Crisis?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

deptfordmarmoset

Full time tea drinker
You're going to go to university at 25?

I would put the writing on the back burner, make it a kind of paid hobby, and submerse yourself in a real job. Train for a vocational job with a very definite career path if necessary, but it doesn't sound like 4 years of university is what you need.

Stop floating, start grafting.
I did my degree in my 30s and really enjoyed it. It also stopped me constantly fretting about what I was going to do in the big bad world. If you can afford it and want to do it, go for it. Even better if you can keep your hand in doing freelance work.

OP
OP
jhawk

jhawk

Veteran
Thanks for the replies all. I'm taking it all in and doing lots of thinking.

I miss my bikes! (When we moved, we weren't able to take them with us - our car doesn't have the proper fittings to be able to fit a bike rack to it). Currently waiting on Dad's friend to drop them off sometime soon (hopefully). When they get here, I'm off out for a long ride to clear my head and do some thinking.

ChrisV

Formerly CC2014
Sorry if my advice sounded a bit harsh.

I work in education and am happy to say the 'leave school, go to uni' route is now not being touted as the only route available to school leavers, as in a lot of cases it's 4 years of study, a mountain of debt, then a struggle at the other end.

If I was leaving again I'd probably go to college and train to be an electrician or something.

OP
OP
jhawk

jhawk

Veteran
Sorry if my advice sounded a bit harsh.

I work in education and am happy to say the 'leave school, go to uni' route is now not being touted as the only route available to school leavers, as in a lot of cases it's 4 years of study, a mountain of debt, then a struggle at the other end.

If I was leaving again I'd probably go to college and train to be an electrician or something.