Advice for a total novice please!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

LucyT

Hi. I am quite new to cycling (after having a break for a number of years) and I need a bit of advice. When I have cycled in the past I have always had a dad/boyfriend to tinker with my bike when I invariably broke it/got a puncture. At the moment I am single/not living near dad and feeling a bit blonde when it comes to anything to do with adjusting gears/brakes etc. Pretty essential knowledge really :biggrin:

So what I want to know is - can anyone point me in the directions of a really easy to follow website/book where I can teach myself the basics?

Otherwise, does anyone know of a good bike shop near to me (Wakefield/Leeds area), I got my bike from Halfords but will obviously not be going there for any advice for obvious reasons.

Try this, it's one of the best.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Richards-21st-Century-Bicycle-Book/dp/0330377175

Oh, and have a look at Velo Belle below!

Anthony

LucyT said:
Hi. I am quite new to cycling (after having a break for a number of years) and I need a bit of advice. When I have cycled in the past I have always had a dad/boyfriend to tinker with my bike when I invariably broke it/got a puncture. At the moment I am single/not living near dad and feeling a bit blonde when it comes to anything to do with adjusting gears/brakes etc. Pretty essential knowledge really :biggrin:

So what I want to know is - can anyone point me in the directions of a really easy to follow website/book where I can teach myself the basics?

Otherwise, does anyone know of a good bike shop near to me (Wakefield/Leeds area), I got my bike from Halfords but will obviously not be going there for any advice for obvious reasons.

Hi Lucy.

I use a number of web sites to learn up about bike things.

http://bicycletutor.com/ - a great web site with lots of videos

http://www.parktool.com/repair/ - loads of info about how to fix/repair any part of your bike.