Advice needed for newbie bike purchase

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Jrhoades

Regular
I'm new to cycling (and this forum) and would like a bike mainly for commuting to work, but also for occasional off road riding, (ie, along my local riverside, etc,). I'd like a reasonable build quality, and one that do well in winter weather also. I'm unsure as to whether suspension forks / seat would be better for me or not for my intended usage... Our roads and cycle paths are not in great shape.

I'm looking at a bewildering number of ladies hybrid bikes here, but seem to keep coming back to this Scott Sportster 55
http://www.rustyscycles.co.uk/products.php?plid=m1b0s18p596

can anyone tell me if they own one, and if so, what are your thoughts on it?

Can anyone also advise on good alternatives in a similar price range?

Thanks for any help or advice offered :-)

MrJamie

Oaf on a Bike
You could easily manage without suspension forks, some people dont like them, personally I do like them and theyre great for riding along trails. The Scott bike youre looking at is incredibly similar to my Giant Roam, same shifters, cassette, chain, similar suspension forks etc and I really like it. Suspension seat is unnecessary though IMHO and tires your legs because youre bouncing around in and out of your optimum bike fit while trying to pedal.

Id guess the Scott would be a great bike for you especially as you have comfort in mind :smile: If youre looking around for discounts, the Giant Roam and Specialized Crosstrail are very similar bikes too.

OP
OP
Jrhoades

Jrhoades

Regular
Many thanks to both of you for your feedback, it helps to know it seems a good price for the spec of the bike. I had looked at the Roam and Ariel also, but was a little unsure as to the curved shape of the frame of the Ariel, would that result in a weaker frame?