Advice on used bike via photos (Giant TCR with Shimano Ultegra 15+ years old model)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ryisnne

Hello to everyone at CycleChat!

This is my first post and was wondering if I could get some advice on whether this bike might be a good deal or not!
I used to ride a cross bike and I am thinking of getting my first road bike, but have a limited budget so have been looking online at used bikes (here in Japan).

I found this bike with the photos you can see that I've attached. I feel it could potentially be a great deal, but as a beginner I'm not sure how to make the judgment. All the information I have is in the title of the post. I am asking the seller about how much maintenance has been done on the bike in the 15 years it has been owned, as well the distance the bike has seen.

I've been reading articles online about what to look for when buying used bikes... but I haven't developed an eye to spot anything the articles mentioned, so would love if I could get some help!!

Attachments

• m55057010943_1.jpg
    m55057010943_1.jpg
    94 KB · Views: 8
  • m55057010943_10.jpg
    m55057010943_10.jpg
    42.5 KB · Views: 8
  • m55057010943_9.jpg
    m55057010943_9.jpg
    43.3 KB · Views: 5
  • m55057010943_8.jpg
    m55057010943_8.jpg
    141.9 KB · Views: 4
  • m55057010943_7.jpg
    m55057010943_7.jpg
    153.6 KB · Views: 5
  • m55057010943_6.jpg
    m55057010943_6.jpg
    77.7 KB · Views: 7
  • m55057010943_5.jpg
    m55057010943_5.jpg
    32.8 KB · Views: 5
  • m55057010943_4.jpg
    m55057010943_4.jpg
    58.1 KB · Views: 5
  • m55057010943_3.jpg
    m55057010943_3.jpg
    180.3 KB · Views: 5
  • m55057010943_2.jpg
    m55057010943_2.jpg
    132.3 KB · Views: 8
OP
OP
R

ryisnne

Sorry I forgot to mention the price! It's being offered at approximately US$450

It's certainly been well used - and not all ultegra.
Those wheels are flash - but if a spoke breaks - unrideable.