Advice on which used endurance bike

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
OP
OP
D

drkash

What's your mechanic'ing like OP ? If you don't do any, then second hand may not be the best option. As for the Madone, when was the last time you changed the brake and, more importantly, gear cables. I've bought two second hand bikes in recent years, but they got all cables replaced and a significant amount of additional maintenance done, until they were 'right' !

I'm not good with bike DIY. I take them to a local guy who does any repairs etc. Last year I had new brake and gear cables fitted and a new chain. The braking is still no way as good as my Whyte hybrids disc brakes and the ride is more uncomfortable. Often at least once a ride the chain comes off when changing gears at a time of when I go up a steep hill. I have had the chain rings removed but it's still the same, it may need a new cassette?

raleighnut

Legendary Member
I'm not good with bike DIY. I take them to a local guy who does any repairs etc. Last year I had new brake and gear cables fitted and a new chain. The braking is still no way as good as my Whyte hybrids disc brakes and the ride is more uncomfortable. Often at least once a ride the chain comes off when changing gears at a time of when I go up a steep hill. I have had the chain rings removed but it's still the same, it may need a new cassette?

Probably the 'limit screw' on the front mech allowing it to 'overshift' dropping the chain

I think what @Dogtrousers wrote is spot on "Reading between the lines, there's not a huge amount wrong with your current bike, but you fancy something a bit nicer. Nothing at all wrong with that. I can identify with this"
I have a 2014 Giant Defy composite road bike and often dream about getting a new bike but then i think about the cost?Even the cheapest carbon bike is going to start at about £1,300 and a high end alloy not far behind.