Advise for a Hybrid in the 300-500 price range

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

choffan

Regular
Hi all!
I live in Cambridge area, I am a man and I am about 190x78kg. I am looking for a bike that would fulfill my commuting. The bike has to be new to make use of a bike-to-work scheme my employer is offering. All in all, a hybrid would probably suit me the best.

Given the extremely high rate of town theft, I would like to stay below the £550 price mark because anything above that would attract enough crime intel to rival with Spectre lol .

I am a noob on biking, hence I apologize if my view is skewed and partial, but so far I could identify the following models and I need a recommendation for choosing between (as well as integrating with other models if you have any recommendation)

Trek FX1 2022 model - £399
Trek FX2 2023 model - £550
Decathlon riverside 900 - £399
Decathlon city urban 900 - £399
Carrera subways 2 - £390

I would link the bike purchase to a monthly insurance, which for this price range would be around £3.5.

Any thoughts warmly appreciated!

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Hello and :welcome: to the forum.

Firstly I would discount the Riverside due to its suspension fork, heavy unnecessary and ineffective at this price point.
A commuter should have mudguards and lights so City Urban has a lot of appeal. Remember it only has a single front chainring as opposed to a double on the others so not so helpful on steeper hills.
Hydraulic brakes are worth having for more being more effective with better modulation, so the Trek FX2 scores over its cheaper stablemate. The Subway is the cheapest of the bunch and is equipped with hydraulic stoppers so worth considering, can be a bit heavy though but shouldn’t worry you too much if your commute is fairly flat.
Edit: If it were me I’d go for the better Trek.

Last edited:
OP
OP
C

choffan

Regular