Advise me please, newbie here.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
OK, Im 56 and new'ish to all this biking malarky. Hubby has just bought us a bike each and whilst Im looking forward to getting on the sadle and getting out and about, Im very scared about being on the roads with cars, wagons and buses whizzing past me. I have seen how close some of these drivers get to cyclists, and its a bit scarey. What I was wondering is, is there some kind of device, that you can fit to your bike that makes drivers give you a wide berth. Im thinking of maybe a long 'flag on a stick' kind of thing that you could attach to your saddle in a horizontal fashion, so that it sticks out sideways, making drivers give you a wide berth so that they dont scratch their cars on it.

If such a devise does exist, then can someone tell me what its called so that I can google it and buy one. If they dont exist, can anyone tell me if its legal for me to make one of these things myself and have it on my bike when Im on the roads.

Thanks.

Moonchester

I've just had a quick look round. These will do the job:
http://www.discountbicycles.co.uk/biz/section.php?xSec=4465
You can probably get safety flags in most bike shops.

Ride defensively and don't take crap off any one (lorrys included) stick to your line and forget about them , thats what I do, proberbaly will get me killed one day but I find it works best at stopping them trying to kill you on a daily basis , if a car is behind me mid corner I stick to my line and don't move , I only move to the side when I see it safe for them to pass, had to many close encounters on bends with people trying to overtake , Just make THEM wait, you have just as much right to be on the road as them.
Works for me, some people might not like It but each to there own.