Alternative 2 wheels

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hello all.
I am new to Bromptons but at 67 I have (too) many years on two wheels. Due to health issues we bought two ebikes recently but found that they were subject to restrictions here in Northern Ireland. They are now gathering dust and until this fiasco is sorted we have bought two new Bromptons to use to supplement or maybe replace the ebikes if the nightmare isn't resolved.
Just looking for general advice on what to expect from what I see as excellent engineering on two wheels.
Both are H6R models so any general do's and don'ts advice would be welcome.
Thanks.

Kell

Veteran
That's a real shame about the eBikes. Though if you find that you love your Bromptons and the restrictions get resolved, there are either conversion kits to turn them into eBikes or electric Bromptons for sale direct.

If you do decide to sell and keep your eBikes, then at least the Bromptons will keep a lot of their value.

Poacher

Gravitationally challenged member
:welcome:
Follow the maintenance recommendations in the user manual and you won't go far wrong! The chain and tensioner attract a lot of muck, being so low to the ground, so pay particular attention to them; keeping the chain clean and lubricated prolongs the useful life of both the chain and rear sprockets.
Keep the seat post clean, but don't get any oil or grease on it. Once you've found the ideal saddle height you may want to mark the position on the post or get the dedicated insert. I've been lucky in that the extended seat post is perfect for me at its full length. The ride will feel very twitchy if you're used to larger wheels, but you soon get used to it, as well as the rather idiosyncratic sequence of gear changes (simultaneously changing up with the left and down with the right, for example). This soon becomes second nature with practice.