Aluminium alloys

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Alembicbassman

Confused.com
My background is in aviation. The service life of aluminium alloy aircraft is about 30 years. The aircraft, on short haul routes, fly up to 10 sectors a day. That's a lot of cycles over 30 years !!! The alloys experience the stresses of presurization, aerodynamic forces, extremes of hot and cold weather, chemical de-icer etc...

An aluminium bike frame pootles around the streets on Earth and is only guaranteed for 5 years.

My frame is 10 years old, no problems yet.

Are manufacturers being a little over cautious?

I suppose the difference is that aircraft are rigorously maintained throughout their lives.

If manufacturers could be sure that bikes were equally well looked after, then maybe the guarantee period would be longer.

Globalti

Legendary Member
Interesting post.

Surely the stresses on a bike frame are much sharper and concentrated in a much smaller area? Also I doubt if bike aluminium is of a comparable quality to aircraft ali.

My great uncle was Chief Designer at BAC at Hurn, he designed the tail of the VC10 amongst other things, as well as being involved with the BAC Super 1-11. I always thought of Uncle Eddie when I was in one of those rugged old 1-11s owned by some dodgy African airline as the pilot smashed it down onto a runway or reversed the thrust to back it across the apron.

BY the way what are your thoughts on the suitability of ali for bike frames? Having owned a couple of ali frames I would say it has the wrong characteristics and is the least suitable metal.

I cannot see why a well made alloy bike frame should not last for ever.

I see it as a good material because it is much lighter than Steel. So what is the problem with it?

Bikes are not made to the same manufacturing quality as a jumbo jet so I would guess that if it gets a crack in it then it most likely started with a crack in it.

LLB