Any bristolian cyclists out there :)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Franlea

Hi Everyone

I am novice cyclist. I last had a bike when I was 14 and my partner bought me another at the age of 35 last summer lol. I love to cycle however I am gradually building up my confidence. I can cycle well and am extremly safe when it comes to balance etc etc but roads i am not good with.

My ambition is to start riding home from work (Broadmead to St george). The plan is to get off and push the bike at roads I am not comfortable with and build myself up. I am planning to cycle across castle Park through gardener haskins and find my way to the bottom of Barton hill so I can cycle the remainder of my journey along the river.

My question is does anyone out there know this route if so do you have any advice ie can i get on the river path before barton hill or can you reacommend quit places to cycle through to get to the river path until my confidence is built up???????????

Hope this makes sence.

Many Thanks

Fran

PS I am in the process of getting equipment accesories for my bike does any body know any good websites where I can by a bike basket bells bags etc.

summerdays

Cycling in the sun
I'm in Bristol, and know part of that route but not the bit by the river. How far into St George, basically on a high bit or ending up lower down by the river? If the higher up part you could use the Bristol to Bath path to get you home, it would give you an easier gradient. The cycle path starts not too far from Gardiner Haskins. (I'm also wondering how you are intending to get your bike to work since you only mention your homeward journey :whistle::biggrin:

OP
OP
F

Franlea