are there any powder coating experts in the house?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

dellzeqq

pre-talced and mighty
I appreciate that thermoset powder coatings are the best, but would polyester, polyurethane or epoxy give the toughest finish

we're talking cast aluminium plates approx 10 metres by 2.7 metres........

alans

black belt lounge lizard
I appreciate that thermoset powder coatings are the best, but would polyester, polyurethane or epoxy give the toughest finish

I know this guy

Abovo Powder Coating
Unit 2
Imperial Works
Talke Pits
Stoke on Trent

01782 776340

I realise he is the thick end of 200 miles from being local to you but a telephone call to pick his brains could answer your question

Acyclo

Veteran

10 m. x 2.7 m.! What kind of a bike are they for?!

But seriously, I can't think of anyone outside of a ship yard who would have toasters big enough for that. But then I'm not an expert. D'oh.

Gareth C

Veteran
Epoxy = tougher, better chemical resistance. Poor UV resistance (will chalk but just degrades the aesthetics).

Polyester depends on the grade - "general industrial grade" can be reasonable in mechanical properties and intermediate on UV resistance. "Architectural grade" is less tough (but still OK for building fabrication processes), but has long term UV resistance.

What's the application for?

Gareth C

Veteran
Have asked a colleague (powder coatings sales), and his response is...

They are decent size sheets & in fact most our architectural coaters would struggle with that size. The accounts we have around London wouldn’t be able to handle that size sheet. Do you need full pre-treatment, exterior application?

He has two possibilities (Norwich and Birmingham) who he'll ask if they could manage the job.

Gareth C

Veteran
I may be wrong but powder coat has to be hung up and hooked up to get an electric charge.