Awesome Hobby!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bpsmith

Veteran
Hi Guys, Newbie here.

Cycle2Work scheme started at work so grabbed a road bike after wanting one for years, and planning to get one next Spring anyway. The saving meant I could get a better bike for the same money, so grabbed a Defy 1 in 2014 guise.

Went for my first ride last week, with 19 miles done. Second ride out yesterday, with 23 miles. Can't believe how much I am loving it!!!

Not been doing much exercise for years, so thought I would be less fit, but going ok so far albeit slower on the hills.

Thought I would join up and gain some experienced advice on gear.

Not got anything aside from bike and Giro helmet, so need everything. Funds are relatively limited, but I don't like to buy cheap and buy twice either. How would you prioritise?

Want a GPS based computer, although could use my iPhone I guess?

Bib Shorts and Jersey?

Clipless Pedals and Shoes?

What other gear do you suggest? Both for maintenance and riding?

Cheers all! :smile:

Dave 123

Legendary Member
Track pump

:welcome: to CC

Not got anything aside from bike and Giro helmet, so need everything. Funds are relatively limited, but I don't like to buy cheap and buy twice either. How would you prioritise?

Look on the classifieds HERE, there's usually always someone selling something, you do need to check it often though.

Want a GPS based computer, although could use my iPhone I guess?

The Garmin Edge 200 is highly recommended. It doesn't do full mapping, but does allow you to download routes onto it and follow them on a breadcrumb trail on screen. It's a great piece of kit IME :thumbsup: Smartphones are OK, but as your distances increase you may find the battery starts to struggle to keep up.

Bib Shorts and Jersey? Clipless Pedals and Shoes?