Base Layer

Base Layers are they worth investing in

• Total voters
Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

DiddlyDodds

Random Resident
I have been cycling for many years now and never tried a base layer, not wanting to get a cheap one and be disappointed i would prefer to go for a better quality but are they worth buying or are they another item to languish in the kit draw.
Them who have tried one are they a yes , no or maybe

figbat

Slippery scientist
It’s a ‘yes’ from me. I almost always wear them, all year round. The only exception being if it’s really, REALLY hot. I have a selection of short and long sleeves and deploy them dependent on the planned activity and weather. They are compression-type tops; I’ll layer with additional, looser thermal types when it’s cold.

Example last night: I went out early evening - it had been a warm day but as the sun drops it can cool quickly. I wore a long-sleeved compression top under a short-sleeved jersey. It was a bit warm on early climbs but I can roll up the sleeves and unzip the jersey to help. Later on it was cooler and I was glad of the layer, especially on descents. If I’d gone out during the day I’d probably have worn a short-sleeved layer under a short-sleeved jersey.

In the past, when I was less well-timbered and it was a heatwave, I have gone out in just a base layer.

vickster

Legendary Member
Not for me, if it's warm enough for only one layer, I only wear one layer (other than the bits of my anatomy that always get two :whistle: )

I use a gilet over a jersey and arm warmers if it's a bit cool (I do seem to get cold arms cycling)

si_c

Guru