Base layers (girls) - confusion!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi all,

I am kitting myself out for spring/summer (well you've gotta keep hoping) and am after a couple of base layers. I'm new to buying sports clothing, so a bit clueless over what to look for - obviously I want a nice feminine baby pink or powder blue colour :rolleyes:

Something either sleeveless or v. short sleeved (need a smooth tan, no "cyclist" tan marks halfway up the arms)

Something with sleeves to wear underneath a long-sleeved jersey

Anyone got any recommendations? I'm not looking to spend a lot of money (as I've already done that :wacko:), had a glance at DHB but they don't seem to do women's.

Thank yooooooou!!

Tim Bennet.

Entirely Average Member
I'm not an expert myself, but I have just been rummaging through Mrs TB's underwear drawer. She would seem to favour in order of most usefullness on both road and mtb year round;

1. Sleeveless, white, thin, synthetic thermal top that is used even on the hottest days. Helps to keep skin dry when she is 'glowing' (like a pig) and not chill on the downhills. (Campagnolo)

2. Synthetic, t-shirt cut with wind stopper front and shoulders. Used with a Buff for keeping drafts out of neck. (Gore)

3. Merino, long sleeve, zipped polo neck for when it is freezing and the ride very long. (Icebreaker)

jimboalee

Some ladies wear a short sleeve road jersey underneath a long sleeve road jersey.
Two short sleeve jersies in warmer weather.

The reason for this is they can carry all the little nik-naks they usually have in their handbag in the inside rear pockets; and PRK, moby, purse etc in the outside rear pockets.

OP
OP
Morrisette

Morrisette

tundragumski said:
dhb definitely do womens base layers - bought one for my girlfriend (yes, very romantic!) anyway, she liked it.

Nothing on Wiggle today??? Maybe they are under 'jerseys' or something, I'll have a look later.

Silly question alert!