Beginner. What bike?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Lewisprill

Hi there,

Im looking to get into cycling. I've always been a keen cyclist but just mountain bikes and BMX. I was just wondering if anyone has any advice on a first time road bike. I've looked around online and have seen a few bit then read mixed reviews and change my mind! I'm looking for a completely setup bike. Budget is about 300-400. As I'm new to it, don't want to get an expensive one and it sit around in my garage!

I've seen a few that take my eye. Couple of Viking ones, Rayleigh Airlite 100 and a Carrera TDF, it's on the halfords site. It looks nice but as for tech specs I have no clue!

Any recommendations!?

Much appriciated

Lewis

PpPete

Legendary Member
Decathlon Triban range is (probably) about the best value around at that sort of price level - if you live near to one of their shops.

Scilly Suffolk

Über Member
No experience myself of Decathlon, but have read plenty of good things about them on here, so I'd definitely be considering them.

Again, I've no experience of Viking and can't remember anyone here commenting one way or the other, so I can't comment.

The four bikes I would recommend any newcomer consider are:
  • Raleigh Airlite 100
  • Edinburgh Bike Co-op Revolution Continental
  • Halfords Carrera TDF Ltd
  • Dawes Giro 300
I wouldn't get too hung up on specs: any bike in your budget is going to be compromised in one area or another. You will learn far more from actually riding any of the above bikes, than you will poring over reviews and specifications.

If you do get the bug, you will then be in a far better position to know what areas you want to spend more money on, when it is time to upgrade.