Berkshire to ____

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

alone

Please bare with me, I can (some how) go on a bit...

Well, here I am. This is my first post. and with any luck, one of very few. I don't mean any offence- It's more that I'm a relatively quiet person who sits more in the background than stands jumping towards the front.

I'm a motorcyclist. Funds are tight, and my last (and first proper) motorcycle trip went off badly. I was supposed to leave the day of my birthday (my most hated day of the year). However, I crashed outside work on my way home the night before - Obviously it wasn't meant to be, as I was then unable to ride for the following two months.

Money has become tighter and tighter. So I found myself an old touring bicycle for a costly £10. It's probably crap and over weight. I believe myself to be of relative fitness. I work as a postman and have never encountered a problem with jogging my delivery for 3hours+ a day carrying a bag.

As I sit here typing this, I have my bike (about to go into shop for new bearings/fixings/clean up etc). It comes with rear panniers, and a handlebar bag. I'm getting proper cycle shorts (thinking 2 or three pairs). Same number of cycle tops. I have a tent and sleeping bag (planning to sleep rough). My spares will include 3 or 4 inner tubes, along with a repair kit. A couple of spare common bolts just incase (old bike). Basic camping kit (stove etc).

My plan is one of two right now;

I am leaving in July. My rented house is up on the 6th, and I hope that's the last day I need anywhere to stay! I plan to either cycle down to Plymouth and catch a ferry across to Santander (Spain), head south towards Madrid, and then decide whether to continue south or what. My other choice is to head towards the channel tunnel, skip down towards southern France and across into Spain then see where it all takes me.
(Spain is an odd one for me. I feel drawn there, so it must be a part of my trip)