Best Road Tyres

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

aserota

Über Member
Bike should be back from the repair shop, for its final tune/setup

Looking for a spare (next set of tyres) for my bike. Ive currently got a pair of continental comp3's (iirc). Is there anything out there that will out perform these?

I hate punctures and really dont care that much about comfort, obviously grip is needed!

Contis gatter skins A+ they are worth the money

For my winter/ training bike (a flst bar roadbike) I opted for Conti 4 Season's as they seemed a good all rounder. My summer bike has Conti GP's, that's what came with the bike and I've had no need to change them. I'm not too experienced with different models but compared to Spesh I like the contis.

walker

spandex said:
???

Why if there good there good!

Gators give good grip in all weather conditions but weigh the same as a small baby and as far as I know they come in a 25c and up.

the Conti and the Michelins are a good road tyre with maximum grip in pretty much all conditions, and have really low rolling resistance

Tynan

Veteran
had ultra gators, and ditched them, cut up too much and slid horribly in the wet

are we talking about the same tyres? smooth with a funny footprint pattern on he shoulders?

Smeggers

Sorry to hijack a bit - but would it be worth upgrading from Vittoria Rubinos - or is the difference not that noticeable?

sjb

Tynan said:
had ultra gators, and ditched them, cut up too much and slid horribly in the wet

are we talking about the same tyres? smooth with a funny footprint pattern on he shoulders?

That's the ones, have to say I've had no grip problems at all in my year with them, including some pretty hairy descents on wet roads and lots of urban commuting - only time I lose grip is wet manhole covers:wacko:

Tynan said: