Bike and bike lock choice

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

kevotrfc

Hi all! Novice here.
I'm looking to order a bike ASAP through the cycle to work scheme. It'll be for a mixture of gravel coatal tracks and roads.
I had ordered a Cannondale quick 1 Hybrid 2020 but after a couple of weeks Evans let me down and couldn't fulfil my order. Since then I've been looking at Boardman bikes also.
I have been doing research and speaking to a couple of experienced riders but I'm undecided.
The Cannodale has Shimano 105 gears which I think are the next grade up from the Boardman ADV 8.9's Shimano Tiagra. Alsoo the Cannondale has Shimano hydralic disc brakes which could be better than the ADV's Shimano disc brakes but not quite sure?
But is the chain type better for coastal rides on the ADV?
I think I'd like both bikes to be honest. Just want to have some informed opinions.
All advice welcomed. Thanks in advance :-)

BigMeatball

Have you tried either of them or are you buying blind?

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Two very different types of bike, would depend if you prefer straight or drop bars, pros and cons for both. As a novice you might not have tried both and might not know which suits you best until you've had quite a few miles with each. Have you thrown a leg over the the bikes?
Don't really understand your question about chain type but equipment level would be similar between the two and differences between Tiagra and 105 would be minimal. Boardman are a good brand now owned by Halfords and have a good rep on here.
I should get down to the shop and go with your heart if not sure. There are no bad choices at this price point.
Good luck and welcome to the forum

CanucksTraveller

Macho Business Donkey Wrestler