Bike sat nav ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Redstev

Regular
Hi all
How do you all navigate ?
I'm new to biking and I also have moved recently so don't know a lot of routes where I live.
Is there a app that I can use on my iPhone to navigate routes or is a Garmin the way to go.
Ideally I'd like something that would talk me through routes as I'm useless at map reading.
If anyone can recommend a app or devise it would be helpful.
Many thanks.

numbnuts

Legendary Member
Garmin touring or etrex 20 or 30

OP
OP
R

Redstev

Regular
Mmmm think edge 1000 is possibly out of my price range.
Quite like the look of the Garmin touring though, seen it for £150 at Chain Reaction.
Thanks for advise guys.

mattobrien

Guru
I have a Garmin 820, which will give directions and prompts to turnings etc. I think it can be had for around £270, although cheaper models may achieve what you want for less money

jnrmczip

@jnrmczip has a Garmin Edge 1000 for sale in the classifieds HERE, not sure if you can push your budget though.

I'm very tempted by it myslef but I'm skint, unless @jnrmczip fancies a swap deal for an iPhone 6s ;)

I'm not a fan of the iPhone 6 and currently own a Samsung s7 edge but thanks for sharing the link to garmin

I'm not a fan of the iPhone 6 and currently own a Samsung s7 edge but thanks for sharing the link to garmin
Hahaha worth a try. I've just given an S7 Edge to Mrs Smoo as it just felt too delicate in my shovel hands, especially after using a Note 4 for a couple of years.

If I had the money, (or if you've still got the 1000 when the iPhone sells), I might just be getting in touch.

jnrmczip

Hahaha worth a try. I've just given an S7 Edge to Mrs Smoo as it just felt too delicate in my shovel hands, especially after using a Note 4 for a couple of years.

If I had the money, (or if you've still got the 1000 when the iPhone sells), I might just be getting in touch.
Hope to hear from you soon and hope you get the sale.