bKool newbie questions

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Tomculb

Regular

I bought myself a bKool smart trainer for Xmas, and I am gradually becoming familiar with the not-entirely-intuitive website and simulator. I also stumbled upon this forum, which has been very helpful. I have a few questions I’d appreciate answers to, especially the first two:

1. bKool says I am an Amateur 2 and a Veteran 3. I’m guessing that’s bkoolspeak for old and slow (guilty as charged), but I’m assuming those designations refer to some objective criteria of some sort. I think I may have seen a thread linking one of them to watts, but I’m not sure. Can someone shed some light?

2. I have had some fun picking out ghosts and bots to try to keep up with, but what I’d really like to do is compete against myself. Is there a way to select one of the sessions I have already completed and have one of the ghosts be me from my prior ride? How would I do that?

3. This morning I picked a session which is supposed to have video, but when the ride started the video remained frozen at the start. So I switched to 3D (which was better than expected since your competitors actually look like bikers and you can see them from farther away). Are some of the videos problematic at times? Or was the bsim simply having a bad day?