Blackpool to Birmingham

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

fullcycle

Hi All

I am by no means an expert cyclist but I am planning a ride from Birmingham to Blackpool, After consulting maps etc its looking like i will be taking a road route rather than a canal route.

Has anyone any pieces of advice on rides they have done within any possible routes or what accommodation forms they used etc

or even just any experiences along the way of doing anything similar

Would be great to hear from you

cheers FC

monkeylc

Über Member
That a bit of a trek?

The Brewer

Shed Dweller
NCN 5 looks like the obvious choice, then after Chester go and take NCN 568 and go up the east side of the Wirral using regional route 89.
Over the Mersey ferry and take NCN 62......Easy when you say it fast :smile:

Happy planning and hope the weathers good for the ride:thumbsup:

OP
OP
fullcycle

fullcycle

would be hoping to do it in 3 days maybe, thanks for that ive never used Sustrans before, id been using cycle streets previously, sustrans looks more in depth but easy to follow

OP
OP
fullcycle

fullcycle

For anyone who is interested i will be attempting this route tomorrow, have decided to do it in two days and will be stopping in Middlewich, carrying on up through Warrington Wigan and Preston. Will try and upload some pics along the way/afterweards

wish me luck :thumbsup:

OP
OP
fullcycle

fullcycle

Good luck, have fun and may the wind be at your rear !^_^

:smile: thanks, the forecast doesnt make to bad reading so hopefully itl be similar to what weve had today

OP
OP
fullcycle

fullcycle

I've just come back to this forum after a long break but stumbled across this thread which got me reminiscing the ride - for those who are interested I thought I'd post this pic to show me at the end of the successful journey (note the sunburnt arms ha ha) :smile:

Attachments

• FB_IMG_1490788367406.jpg
    FB_IMG_1490788367406.jpg
    129.4 KB · Views: 54

Bimble