Bloody Students grrr

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Archie_tect

De Skieven Architek... aka Penfold + Horace
It is a of of money, and I'm glad I'm in my final year. I'm not sure I would attend Uni if the fees were 9k when I started. But you mention 'contact time', which is only one aspect of university. The substantial resources provided by means of libraries, online services etc makes the current fee quite reasonable.

I could be a personal architectural tutor for £40 an hour...

My 2 children would freak out at £9000 a year fees. They were worried enough about £3000 a year.... and we paid them [not quite worked that one out yet].

Jezston

Über Member
Anyway, this 9k would be the top...UNIs would charge a market rate so courses could be a lot less.
Even the fairly rubbish degree courses are oversubscribed. Universities will all charge full whack because they can.

Trumpettom001

I really couldn't believe it when I saw that. Did they honestly think they were going to achieve anything? I feel ashamed to be a student - images of hoodies kicking down windows - chucking a fire extinguisher off of a roof... Thiese are the images that will stick in many peoples minds - a popular phrase on here "all tarred with the same brush"..... It's just a slightly more violent version of the pointless "car driver vs cyclist" debate. Ok I know that this is only a tiny minority of the student population, but even so - I'd rather we were all seen as lazy do-nothings, rather than violent yobs. Grrrr!

pepecat

As others have said on here, the 9k fees don't only pay for teaching, they pay for the library and information services (which are pretty expensive), lighting / heating etc of buildings, subsidised sports and coaching in many unis, the guild of students and student societies, the chaplaincy, the counselling and careers services, etc, etc ,etc.... all things which contribute to students' experience of university.