Bottom Bracket Replacement

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

JeffBaines

Hi folks,

I'm a massive novice but I've been learning slowly over the past year how to look after my bike. Bare with me here, Imagine its your nan who's speaking so you understand where I've come from in terms of knowledge of bikes. So far I have:

• Changed the pedals
  • Replaced the brake pads
  • Replaced the rear cassette after being quoted almost double the DIY price
  • Replaced the chain
  • Had a go at adjusting the gears but failed miserably
With that in mind, I got a puncture en route to work today and had to pit stop at Cycle Republic. The guy was really sound and explained a few things. He also mentioned that

1. My drop bar/brake levers are bent massively (after I fell off quite spectacularly)
  2. My bottom bracket (inside the pedals) needs replacing as it whirrs at the same point in one full rotation
A few questions -
  • Is it easy to fix the bent handlebars/levers?
  • What bottom bracket will fit a Boardman CX team? The one on the spec doesn't appear to be in stock anywhere

Cycleops

Legendary Member
I shouldn't even bother to straighten the bars and levers, you might weaken the levers and handlebars are cheap enough. I'm assuming you mean the levers are bent rather than their position on bars.

Perhaps some CX owners can offer advise. on BBs, there are bound to be lots of alternatives.

It is a PF30 I'm afraid so you'll basically need one of THESE*

FWIW you might get away with a strip, clean, grease and refit. Press fit BB's are notoriously fickle when it comes to making annoying noises.

PF30.png

Instructions are HERE.

*other manufacturers and retailers are available.

OP
OP
J

JeffBaines

Thank you all for the replies. I'm going to leave the handle bars/brake levers alone for now because I'm really not noticing anything different.