Bottom Bracket Threads Worn

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

PpPete

Legendary Member
I have a much used and loved frame. 531 Reynolds tubing. But the Bottom Bracket threads are so worn now that sealed units just won't stay tightened at all. So would this
http://www.sjscycles...hreads-4521.htm
be of any use? What do you think? How do they work/stay tight?

You'd need to get the remains of the old threads reamed out. I think those are a press fit, so it's a professional job.

D

Deleted member 1258

It looks like the cups are screwed onto the cartridge instead of the BB and tighten against the BB. I have no experience of them but they look a good solution to the worn/damaged BB problem.Theres a simular one towards the bottom of this page. http://www.velosolo.co.uk/shopchain.html

I used a similar Acor threadless bottom bracket when I managed to strip the threads on an old frame some time ago - it worked okay.

Both ends of the BB should be tapered so tightening it up holds it in place.

For a good fit you might also need to file a bit of a taper on the inside of the shell - but don't overdo it or it won't fit tight.

You'll also need two BB tools - to hold one side still whilst you tighten the other.

I also used thread-lock to keep it in place.

MartinC

Über Member
Alien8's post is the correct info. This is a threadless BB. It doesn't require threads in the BB shell - the 'cups' screw on to the BB body so that you can fit it even if the threads in the frame are useless. There's normally a small taper where they butt up against the frame to ensure a tight fit so filing a small corresponding taper on the frame is a good idea. You don't need to get the frame reamed. It's also possible that if the thread aren't too bad that a BB threading tool will cut enough new thread for a normal BB to work - a good LBS can check this for you.