Brake Efficiency Research

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

rowanchick94

Hi Guys,

I'm currently studying Product Design and Technology at Loughborough University, and for my final year project I'm looking at developing road bike handlebars and brake levers to improve braking efficiency.

The main area of my focus is brake lever positioning and how this can be adapted around the bar to make braking easier. From earlier research I have found that a problem with braking is that from 'resting' hand positions, it can be hard to adjust hand positioning to apply the brakes. Other than adding multiple brake levers, as the whole of the bar can't be covered with them efficiently, does anybody have any ideas on how I can take on this problem.

I would also appreciate it if anyone has any braking problems that they could highlight, or any suggestions on how braking can be made easier/ more efficient.

I have a very quick survey active that I would be thankful if you could spare a couple of minutes to complete:

https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/Z3WL3V9

I will be grateful for any positive response, and I look forward to any feedback you may have.

Many thanks.

Would love to see your conclusions as I don't like the brakes on my road bike.

Spinney

Bimbleur extraordinaire
Hi Rowanchick - welcome to cyclechat
I've done your survey. A slight problem with it is that many folks on here have more than one bike. I could enter more than one in the 'type of bike' section, but not in later sections.

My thoughts on brakes.