Briefcase for paniers

Discussion in 'Commuting' started by djc45, 7 Jun 2008.

1. djc45

djc45 New Member

Hi,
    I am planning to get back into cycling, which I used to do loads, but since I was unwell, have not been able to do so. I am planning to start cycling to work.
    I will train over the summer holidays, planning to start cycling to work in August when the schools go back, I am a teacher by the way.

My question is, can any of you recommend a briefcase kind of panier case that can clip on and off a rack easily. This would give me a briefcase, or 2, to carry around at work, that would simply clip back onto my rack to travel home. I have seen one or 2 that are about the £100 mark, are there any cheaper that any of you have found.

Finally, is there such a thing as a fiberglass locking box that I can fit to the top of a pan ier rack, you know like a motorbike has, so that I can keep things safely locked in it and always with my bike, I`m thinking tools, extra shopping etc.

Any ideas anyone could suggest would be really appreciated.

Thanks

2. Check out Ortlieb, I use their office bag and found it really good. When I was looking most people advised Ortlieb, now I know why.

3. Mister Paul

Mister Paul Legendary Member

+1 for the Ortlieb.

I'd tried a few cheap ones in the past, and after sending back my second Altura Office pannier, decided to pay the extra and get the Ortlieb. I'm so glad I did. It's easy to clip on and off, completely waterproof but simple to get into, and has plenty of pockets and bits inside. And it comes in two widths.

http://www.ortlieb.com/_prod.php?lang=en&produkt=officebag

4. Danny

Danny Legendary Member

+2 for the Ortlieb briefcase.

I have occasionally seen people with fibreglass boxes on their rear racks, but they mostly look home made or adapted from scooter boxes.