BTwin turbo

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Freds Dad

Veteran
As the weather is rubbish, I'm new to cycling and I don't want to go to far in case my knee plays up I thought I'd start with a turbo trainer but didn't realise how may there were.

Anyway I came across this at Decathlon

http://www.decathlon.co.uk/inride-bike-trainer-black-blue-id_8191570.html

and would appreciate and advice or comments if its a good buy or not. I know I will need a front wheel riser but apart from that is there anything else I would need.

Thanks

Fubar

Guru
As the weather is rubbish, I'm new to cycling and I don't want to go to far in case my knee plays up I thought I'd start with a turbo trainer but didn't realise how may there were.

Anyway I came across this at Decathlon

http://www.decathlon.co.uk/inride-bike-trainer-black-blue-id_8191570.html

and would appreciate and advice or comments if its a good buy or not. I know I will need a front wheel riser but apart from that is there anything else I would need.

Thanks

I don't have that one but I have the Elite, also from Decathlon - if you are new to cycling I wouldn't get too hung up on how good it is, it will provide enough resistance for training (6 settings, mine only has 5) on so it just comes down to what you can afford and how much effort you put in.

Make sure it is stable (i.e. doesn't wobble), you will need a squewer (? spelling!) adapter for the rear wheel to fix into the turbo, it may come supplied - and a sweat catcher might be a good idea too as you will be dripping.

Spending an hour just spinning on a turbo can be murder and much harder than being outside (it is very boring!), try to find some interval training on T'interweb or PM me and I'll send you some stuff - really comes down to what you want to achieve from your turbo sessions.

Good luck! Mark

subaqua

What’s the point