Buying Shares

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Spiderweb

Not So Special One
I am a complete newbie and I’ve just opened an online share dealing account, transferred money and bought my first lot of shares. Do any of you financial wizards have any recommendations of what companies I should be looking into with a view to investing in?

sleuthey

Legendary Member
Me personally, Royal Mail

twentysix by twentyfive

Clinging on tightly
Past performance is not a guarantee of future performance.

However there was a crash recently so you may be buying at the right time.

Are you doing this for the Dividends or a Buying and Selling exercise? The latter requires nimbleness in the market place and I've never found the former to return much on investment. But then I've never played. I've been given shares once or twice and not been impressed at all. Methinks better to invest in a fund where a professional (who may also get it wrong) has the full time job of playing the market. The wider the fund spreads the investment the lower the overall risk but then the overall return will also be lower. Or looked at the other way - the smaller the losses.

HTH

OP
OP
Spiderweb

Spiderweb

Not So Special One
If you’ve already bought some, you tell us!
Well I bought Lloyd’s shares. They were priced low before the Covid crash then they almost halved. Dividend yield is good, way better than current interest rates so I thought it would be a good time to buy. I’m expecting a big boost after the Covid recession but I don’t plan to sell, I fancy them long term.
Shares values have always recovered well after any crash.

Last edited:

MarkF

Guru
Standard Life Aberdeen, it's been a tumultuous few years but they are as low as they will go IMO, wish I had said this yesterday. Long term winner.

snorri

Legendary Member
A request for financial advice goes out to an anonymous group of cyclists, some of whom may have even given up cycling:rolleyes::ohmy:,