CAAD 12 for Commuting.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hey everyone,
I have been commuting using a Broadman hybrid for the last 4 years or so. I commute 25 Miles a day in total , 4 days a week.
I just bought my first Road bike - And that happens to be CAAD 12 ultegra. (Decided to go with CAAD 12 after lot and lot of research)
I am loving the CAAD 12 in terms of handling and response. It a fantastic bike! (Not sure how this compares with other carbon bikes.)

Because my main usage is commuting I purposely selected the Alu frame against carbon. Hoping it would take the load the abuse while parking and commuting.

But I am starting to think did I went for a wrong bike. Because CAAD 12 frame is so light it is kind of so fragile. I am able to see movement in the top tube if try to squeeze it with my fingers. not as bad as trying to squeeze empty coke can. but almost like un-opened coke can with gas inside. I am sure if I press it hard enough with my full power the top tube in CAAD 12 might slightly dent or bend. It is not that I am so strong - it seems like CAAD 12 top tube is so fragile

When I tried to do the same (Squeezing the top tube with fingers) on the other Carbon bikes in the store I was not able to see any movement.
ironically Carbon bike seems to be much stronger in my test.

Should I be worried? Should I return the bike and go for something more robust like CAADX or Pinnacle Arkose...
Having said that I did not like the appearance of CAADX or Pinnacle Arkose that is why in the first place to CAAD 12. (But I starting to realise Practicality is more important than aesthetics) I still have 3 and half weeks left in my 30 days return period :biggrin:

Please let me know your valuable thoughts. Thanking you in advance.

Is there any CAAD 12 owners out there ? do you feel the same?

Regards

Nathan

MiK1138

Veteran
I would be very worried if i could squeeze the tubing on any bike

Spiderweb

Not So Special One