Cadence, Gearing and Comfort...?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi all,
I've been hacking about on my SS bikes for a couple of months now and love the simplicity. I've clocked up many hundreds of miles, broken in a Brooks saddle, extracted bugs from both my teeth and eyes and waved merrily at the car drivers who have cut me up.
In that time I have been examining the readings on my Garmin as far as my speed and cadence goes and how comfortable I am feeling.
On the flat(ish) areas, or if the wind is behind me I feel most comfortable at between 82 and 88 cadence. At my favourite gearing of 46:16 this gives me a speed of about 18-20mph and I can pretty much keep this up all day. I have tried a few taller ratios (52:17 and 48:16) but find that I can't hold this taller gear on the flat or if the wind is heavily in my face - my cadence drops to the low 70s, my legs feel really heavy and I flake out very fast. It's. It pretty!
On the other hand, with the same gearing, if I come to a steep hill I find it more comfortable to drop my cadence to 50-60, stand up on the pedals and grind it out. If I try the same hill on my geared bike the same is true - I'd rather stick to a similar 77inch(ish) gear and grind it than drop a couple of cogs and spin the pedals faster. Even if this puts me at my same comfortable 82-88 cadence for the flats.
In other words, I like to spin easily on the flat but stand and grind on the hills?
Is this usual? I am aware that my fitness, stamina and strength have all improved over the last few months, but I still have the same comfort zones as far as cadence/incline is involved.
Thoughts and comments please.

J

Kaatje