Cannondale Slice 5 105 - £399 - Is this worth it?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Khaled123

Hi,

I've found a second hand (reputable seller) Cannondale Slice 5 TT (pictured) with a shimano 105 groupset for £399, I thought this was a steal but I am fairly new to race bikes so was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on if this is a good price.

I have owned an entry level boardman road bike before but that recently got stolen hence I am replacing.

Thanks for any help
IMG_E65F2A95F5F2-1.jpeg

DCLane

Found in the Yorkshire hills ...
This will have originally been a TT bike that's someone's converted for road use. It can happen as people want the latest frameset and older ones lose value quickly. The original's from 2008 and was about £3000-3500 back then. It'll have had less use as a TT bike, the question is: when was the conversion done?

If that's the seller's photo they've got the saddle tilted up rather than flat/slightly down and the bars tilted too far up.

There's nothing wrong with riding a TT frameset for road use - my son's done that as a training bike before - but you will struggle to get anything beyond quite narrow tyres in and the front forks are designed for straight line speed. Cornering / descending will feel a bit different so I'd recommend a test-ride first to make sure you're OK and that it fits you, particularly as TT bikes are designed for an elongated position rather than typical more upright road use. A later model's on eBay for £1000 currently: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/133578306088 to give you an idea.

Is it worth £400 ? Just. The wheelset's basic and the groupset, with what looks to be Shimano 105 5700 shifters, is OK. Ultimately it's about whether you can live with the limitations of a converted TT bike.

Cycleops

Legendary Member