Carera hybrid 2.0

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

mman

Hi
Newbie here
I have purchased a carera hybrid 2.0 recently and noticed the disc breaks make a noise and the cycle doesn’t come to halt when at speed .I have since oiled it any further tips or advice how to service the bike at home or checks will be much appreciated

vickster

Legendary Member
Is the bike new? If so, take it back to Halfords for them to check. Not all brakes are great especially on cheaper bikes but they probably just need adjusting.
If the bike isn't new, it may need new pads.
Lots of disc brakes squeal especially in the wet, not easy to remedy (but good for alerting pedestrians to your presence!!()

Oh and don't put oil anywhere near brakes!! Unless you mean the brake oil for hydraulic systems?

Reactions: C R

sleuthey

Legendary Member
the cycle doesn’t come to halt when at speed .I have since oiled it
So are you saying that no matter how long you squeeze the brake leaver for it will never slow down to a complete stop?

What was the outcome of whatever you oiled? If you oiled the pads then make sure your social distanced if you test it.

OP
OP
M

mman

Many thanks
Is the bike new? If so, take it back to Halfords for them to check. Not all brakes are great especially on cheaper bikes but they probably just need adjusting.
Lots of disc brakes squeal especially in the wet, not easy to remedy (but good for alerting pedestrians to your presence!!()

Oh and don't put oil anywhere near brakes!! Unless you mean the brake oil for hydraulic systems?
Its a used bike
I m doing exactly that using brakes to alert pedenstrians ;-) but also worried i may run into them

OP
OP
M

mman

So are you saying that no matter how long you squeeze the brake leaver for it will never slow down to a complete stop?The bike does slow down slowly however i thought as these are disc brakes the bike will slow down quickly