Carlton Ten

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

DMCGIN

Hi folks

I have an old Carlton Ten which has been in my hut for many years but 'thanks' to the lockdown I've been out and about on it and I'm really enjoying it. The bike was given to me more than 25 years ago and I've hardly used it.

Sadly, it's in need of some TLC - especially the tyres, and the wheels which are buckled and wobbly.

I'm considering upgrading the important things on the bike and I'm looking for advice.

How easy would it be to purchase and fit new parts?
Can I upgrade the gears from the current 12, to something higher?
Is it just a case of buying new wheels for the back and front - do the gears come separate?

Has anyone done something similar to a Carlton Ten that I could copy?

Or would I better better advised to just buy a new bike?

I'm new to all this stuff so any help, pointers, recommendations would really be appreciated.

Carlton_Ten.jpg

raleighnut

Legendary Member
Hi folks

I have an old Carlton Ten which has been in my hut for many years but 'thanks' to the lockdown I've been out and about on it and I'm really enjoying it. The bike was given to me more than 25 years ago and I've hardly used it.

Sadly, it's in need of some TLC - especially the tyres, and the wheels which are buckled and wobbly.

I'm considering upgrading the important things on the bike and I'm looking for advice.

How easy would it be to purchase and fit new parts?
Can I upgrade the gears from the current 12, to something higher?
Is it just a case of buying new wheels for the back and front - do the gears come separate?

Has anyone done something similar to a Carlton Ten that I could copy?

Or would I better better advised to just buy a new bike?

I'm new to all this stuff so any help, pointers, recommendations would really be appreciated.

View attachment 532514