Cassette Off, Freehub out, what next!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Rooster1

I was right about that saddle
I've been trying to rescue this back wheel for months, and I couldn't even get the cassette off, until I squeezed the cassette into a vice and off it came! Now i'm completely new to the world of freehubs so forgive my ignorance. I wan't to save the wheel as it is light and straight. However the casseette was very wobbly on the freehub and became unusable, the chain would jump around all the time and shifting was hit and miss.

WP_20170401_14_54_09_Pro.jpg

The next stage was to get the freehub off / out, but this setup has sealed bearings which again would not budge (I've never installed or removed sealed bearing before). Anyway, I managed to take the whole freehub out by hitting the non drive side.

And here's what plopped out.
WP_20170401_15_17_14_Pro.jpg

I've never actually handled this assembly before and it is mind bogglingly complicated.

What sort of axle and freehub is this, the Wheel is a Cole Rollen.

So, should I give up at this stage or try and find a replacement axle and freehub?

gbb

Legendary Member
It's really the simplest in my experience. Same as the Fulcrum 5 freehub in essence. Your problem is wobbling sprockets on the freehub yes ?
You have some 'bite' marks where the sprockets engage the freehub but that's normally not a problem.
Has anyone had the cassette off in the past, was it always a problem ?
I did once have mine off and failed to get the sprockets and lockring correctly aligned and what happened was I trapped the 11t between the lockring and the end of the freehub. Result is the lockring and the smallest sprocket is tight, you think all is well but all the other sprockets are slightly loose, you dont even realise unless you wiggle them or start to ride and of course all the shifts are hopeless.
Just something worth checking

Last edited:

lpretro1