chain slipping

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Fog Beast

Regular
I'm very new to cycling after a 20 odd year break but getting back into it slowly. Problem is after a 6 week hiatus while training for a new job my bike now slips gear whenever I put a large amount of pressure on the pedals. It's only a cheapo bike but I'm using it to prove to the wife that I can get to the point where I can do the 13 miles to work and justify a decent road bike.

Bearing in mind I'm a complete newbie at this can anyone give any advice on this?

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
It sounds like you might have left the chain on too long and worn your transmission out. How many miles have you done with that chain, chainrings, and cassette (rear cog cluster)?

If you replace chains before they get to that point, you can usually get away using a new chain with the old cassette and chainrings. If you let the chain get too worn however (such as when it slips under pressure), it wears the cassette and rings to the point that even a new chain will slip. That is a costly mistake because you then have to buy a new cassette and rings too. Better to spend a bit more on replacing the chain more often!

ColinJ

I've done maybe 50 miles on it so I'm hoping I don't have to replace the chain.
Was it new when you bought it? If it was then wear will not be the problem. (I get a few thousand miles out of each chain but to do that you need to keep them clean and lube them when they need it.)

If it is a new bike then the problem is more likely to be a minor gear adjustment issue. There are plenty of videos on YouTube showing you how to tweak your gears, for example - this one ...

sgl5gjr