Changing Cassettes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

DHC

I am new to road bikes and finding the gear ratios different from my hybrid and moutain bikes. Basically, hills that I can climb with ease on my hybrid, I struggle up on my road bike. Question is, can I change the cassette to one that would normally be fitted to a mountain bike/hybrid. Current setup is as follows:

Shifters – Shimano Tiagra 9 speed STI
Rear Mech – Shimano 105
Front Mech – Shimano Tiagra
Cassette – Shimano HG 50 9 speed 12-25
Chain – Shimano HG73 narrow
Chainset – Truvativ Elita 2.1 Compact 50/36T
Bottom Bracket – Truvativ GXP

Hope is that I can change the cassette to either of the following:

11-32 or even 11-34.
http://www.cyclesportsuk.co.uk/product_info.php?products_id=903

Any comments or advice would be appreciated.

MichaelM

Guru
That's a fair range for a 105 rear mech to handle, depends on whether or not it's a long cage or not. Try Sheldon Brown for info - though someone more knowledgeable may be along to clarify.........

fosmaal

The max rear sprocket capacity of a 105 rear mech is 27 teeth, so you will need to get a rear mech with a long cage, which wold mean getting a MTB one (I'm not sure if you can get a long cage road specific mech, unless somebody tells me different) this should allow you to go upto 34 on the rear. Luckly a MTB mech will work with you index shifters, unlike MTB front mechs.

Some of you questions are answered here.

http://www.ctc.org.uk/DesktopDefault.aspx?TabID=3808

bonj2

whack an 11-23 on there you girl. And use a triple chainset. Doubles are no good if you are having to grind up hills, and putting a MTB cassette on is not the answer! The main (only?) reason for having a double is to look hard. It kind of ruins it a bit if you then whack a dirty great 34 toother on the back

OP
OP
D

DHC

bonj said: