Changing hub to derailleur system.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I've mentioned before that I'm working on a new bike for Beautiful Daughter, seen here:

20221223_143428-jpg.jpg

You will notice that this bike, apart from being as pink as a pink bike could possibly be, currently has a hub gear system, also has a dropper for a derailleur system.

We live in a hilly area, and our 3 boys went off cycling when they used a hub gear bike; the three gears don't help much with our hills, and anyway the friction from the hub rather cancelled the advantages in any case. I have been wondering what is required to change to a derailleur geared bike.. As far as I can tell I'd need:

New rear wheel
Rear Derailleur
Shifter of some kind
New chain
New chainwheel (?)

Bear in mind I work in a shop refurbishing used bikes the parts shouldn't be too much trouble, except possibly the chain wheel, so I've got a few questions:

How feasible is this conversion generally? I never converted hub-derailleur before. Has anyone else tried?
Is there something I'm not thinking of; bikes throw up nasty surprises; would a normal rear mech really fit on such a small wheel?
Do I need to change the chain wheel? I suspect so because single speed chains are wider than derailleur gears chains.
How many gears? Eight would be simple because it's easy to get parts, but is there a good reason for using seven or even six?

Ian H

Ancient randonneur
New hub. Etcetera. Measure the drop-out width first, to determine what width of cassette will fit (might be narrower being a small bike).

I wonder whether it would be possible to fit a screw-on freewheel block of, say, 6-speed to the current hub (you'd have to dish the wheel), to give 3x6 gears. Just an idea.

Cycleops

Legendary Member