Choices

Discussion in 'Electric Bikes' started by Phaeton, 1 Feb 2018.

1. Phaeton

Phaeton Guru

I'm trying to gently get my wife back into exercise, I know this could all end in tears, but I have to try, I mentioned buying a tricycle the other day as my sister has one, it wasn't immediately rejected which I have taken as sign of 'possible' acceptance. I did also suggest it would be an electric tricycle, so with that in mind I've just Fleecebay'd & found the following,

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Mens-lad...779555?hash=item3f897f9563:g:eO8AAOSwxp9Z5LF6

Is this a good price, is it a good make, I have no knowledge of these

Alternatively I did wonder about

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Ladies-Trike/152882178021?hash=item23987ce7e5:g:Y4EAAOSwAHtaIBua

Then adding a motor kit, which may work out slightly cheaper but I don't know if it's a better option.

2. raleighnut

raleighnut Guru

I'd go for the cheap one then think about fitting a kit to the front wheel.
    The only snag I had doing that with mine was the front fork dropout wasn't thick enough to accept the anti-rotation fitting on the front wheel so I had to change forks and with that in mind I fitted some for a 26" wheel and bought an appropriate electric wheel kit,

trike 001.JPG

I changed a few other bits too but have all the standard bits safely stored in the loft.

3. Salar

Salar Über Member

I bought my wife an electric trike from a forum member last year together with help from @raleighnut

She loves it. Took a while to get used to. First time I rode it I nearly crashed it!

Trike 2.jpg

raleighnut likes this.
  4. OP
    OP
    Phaeton

Phaeton Guru

Thanks both, I don't see the trike on their website @Salar have they stopped making it?

5. Salar

Salar Über Member

Hi @Phaeton

Ours is a 2016, it was only one year old when I bought it, virtually unused.

I think they have stopped making trikes, shame as it's a nice solid trike, well put together and it pulls well in high with my weight!