Claris or Sora - will a novice notice the difference?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Gordz

Regular
Getting into road cycling for commuting/fitness and was wondering if as a novice I will actually notice a difference between Claris and Sora gears?

I ask as I'm torn between the Giant Defy 3 and 4. Both bikes are identical bar the gears and the difference in price is only £50... but I prefer the white colour of the Defy 4 (Claris) compared to the blue of the Defy 3 (Sora).

Thanks for your anticipated wisdom :smile:

Crandoggler

No.

I don't think you get a full Groupset on either bike do you? So I wouldn't particularly worry. Claris is a very smooth operating setup, as is Sora.

OP
OP
Gordz

Gordz

Regular
Cheers for the quick responses!

Not sure what a "full groupset" is Crandoggler (still learning!), but below are the specifics...

Defy 3:
  • NUMBER GEARS 18
  • SHIFTERS Shimano Sora 18 speed
  • CHAINSET Shimano Sora, 50/34
  • CHAINRINGS 50/34
  • CASSETTE SRAM PG 950 11-32
  • CHAIN KMC X9
  • FRONT DERAILLEUR Shimano Sora
  • REAR DERAILLER Shimano Sora
  • BOTTOM BRACKET Shimano, threaded external
Defy 4:
  • NUMBER GEARS 16
  • SHIFTERS Shimano Claris 16 speed
  • CHAINSET FSA Tempo, 34/50
  • CHAINRINGS 34/50
  • CASSETTE SRAM PG 850 11-32
  • CHAIN KMC Z7
  • FRONT DERAILLEUR Shimano Claris
  • REAR DERAILLER Shimano Claris
  • BOTTOM BRACKET Sealed Cartridge

subaqua

What’s the point
only if they read the name!

one has 2 letters more. ( which to some would mean better as more is always better)

both are very good TBH

OP
OP
Gordz

Gordz

Regular
I was hoping these were the replies I'd get, thanks! A white Defy 4 it is then :biggrin:

Get the one you like, I guarantee you will ride it more:bicycle:

Only diiference really is one is 9 spd and one is 8.