Climbing abilities

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Tizwaldo

I am fairly new to cycling. I read somewhere that the weight of the rider makes little difference on the flat, but that on hills weight makes a big difference.

One of my cycling buddies, who weighs about 25lbs more than me, is about the same speed as me on the flat. In fact, I may be a bit quicker. This suggests that I put out a slightly higher wattage than he does.

On hills, it's a different story. He leaves me for dead. How can this be, when he weighs so much more than me? I assumed that, if two riders put out about the same wattage, the lighter rider would be better on hills.

CXRAndy

Guru
He is most likely sandbagging on the flats

Its obvious he is stronger than you, he has a higher Watts per kilo.

There is a mental element to climbing hills at threshold.

You say you're new to cycling. It could be be that you haven't got enough miles yet. How far can you cycle comfortably 10,20,50,100 miles?

Slick

Guru
Pretty simple really, although it is unusual for you to be better on the flat. The guy I ride with is more than capable of leaving me on the climbs but he's just as capable on the flat and it's because he's fitter and stronger but if anyone asks, I'll deny ever admitting it. :laugh:

davidphilips

Veteran
Chances are that he has cycled up more hills that you have, Best way to get better/faster at cycling uphills is to start and cycle up hills faster.

CXRAndy

Guru
There is a limit, short hills, sub 1 mins a big heavy rider could match a lighter rider. But long hills a lighter rider will generally out perform a heavier rider, with superior W/kg. Assuming equal fitness

Fab Foodie

hanging-on in quiet desperation ...
Aerodynamics play a far greater role on the flat (higher speed) than up hills. You may be more aerodynamic....

Shreds

Technique and experience are essential in climbing faster.