Clipless pedals?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

CHEXTER

Hey i am new to the world of clipless pedals and i have never used them, I have a Trek 4300 2010 hardtail bike, i am hoping to ride lands end to john o'groats next year on it, but i also want to do some off roading with it.

I want a cheap entry level clipless pedal set preferably with the shoes included!

Does anyone know of what the perfect model or type would be for me and how much is it going to cost me?

Thanks for the help

Globalti

Legendary Member
Shimano SPDs. Easy walking and adjustable cleat tension. A good range of comfortable shoes and all other manufacturers' shoes will take SPDs although walking might not be so easy if the shoe doesn't have the recess in the sole.

02GF74

Über Member
cost - eaby and chain reaction - best to try shoes on shop to see how they fit.

you want a slightly tighter fitthan you would for normal soes but not so tight they crush your ickle toesey woeseys.

Mr Pig

I got caught out with a pair of Specialized clipless shoes. Turned out they let too much air through and in colder weather my feet were frozen!

I now use Power Grips. I like the fact that I can use them with any old trainers or even boots in the winter and they're close enough to clipless in performance to do me. LINK

powergrips-pedal-straps.jpg

barq

Sounds like a good addition to your bike and especially helpful for Lands End --> John O'Groats.

Just to add to what Rigid Raider said... SPDs are a Shimano product. Other manufacturers make SPD compatible pedals and shoes which in some cases are very good value. The pedals come with the cleats which you bolt onto the soles of the shoes. It can take a few goes to find the right cleat position, so don't attempt a long ride before you are happy with them. As a rule the Italian manufacturers' shoes are narrower and American ones slightly wider.

tyred

Legendary Member
Mr Pig said: