Colinelli bike and Liftel QR skewers?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Montsegur Horsefly

Hi all

First post on this here wonderful forum. Been so addicted to reading about some amazing bikes, history and restoration work that I thought it was time to jump in. I'm pretty new to this lark, currently working on my second project. The first was a bit of a dry run on a very sorry Triumph Tempest just to see if I could strip a bike and get her going again without breaking the bank (too much). She just sold, basically for breakeven, but was a joy to work on.

The latest bike is a bit of a mystery. Branded as a Colinelli, it seems to be a decent frame (2.2kg when stripped, although frame is small), nice lugs, braised cable guides and chrome forks. Has Mavic module-E 700c wheels with Miche hubs, JPR stem, CLB levers and calipers, Maillard Course 6-speed freewheel and a SR triple crankset.

Needed new bars, saddle and pedals, but seems to scrubbing up nicely. Very pleased with how easy the forks started shining. I'll get some pix up as soon as I can as she's quite a nice looking bike, but am struggling a little to find out any more about the name. A couple of images of similar bikes to mine come up when Colinelli is Googled, but apart from that and the name being associated with some former pros I'm at a bit of blank.

Also a bit of cack-handedness has seen a bit of damage to the rear Liftel-branded QR lever. Looking for a replacement online for the Liftel name again is mystery. Style of lever is very much vintage Campag/Maillard script font with raised "nobbly" border. I could replace with either of these, but would also need front to match and price of a set on Ebay is silly. Any help with the Liftel or Colinelli names would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

midlife

Guru
Welcome :smile:. Are the hubs Spidel?

Would love to see some pics :smile:

OP
OP
Montsegur Horsefly

Montsegur Horsefly